The Curragh has announced that Dubai Duty Free has agreed to extend their sponsorship of the Dubai Duty Free Irish Derby for 2018. The race takes place on Saturday 30th June as the highlight of the three day Dubai Duty Free Irish Derby Festival.

The world’s most successful airport retailer has sponsored Ireland’s premier race since 2008 having initially commenced it’s partnership with the County Kildare venue in 2002.  Dubai Duty Free are only the third commercial sponsor of the race following the Irish Sweepstakes and Anheuser-Busch/Budweiser.

The 2017 running of the Group One Classic, won by Capri, was officially the highest rated race in the world for three year olds and in the top 10 of the overall world’s best races of 2017.

The total value of the 12 furlong contest will be 1.5 million euro with prize money distributed to the first eight placed horses with the winner receiving 870,000 euro. Dubai Duty Free will also sponsor five other races on the day.

The Curragh will again partner with Dubai Duty Free to offer “Free Entry” to the winners and placed horses of a variety of races leading up to the race, in which the entry fee will be refunded as applicable.  This initiative was launched for the first time in 2015.

Derek McGrath, CEO of The Curragh commented:

“Dubai Duty Free have been outstanding partners of the Curragh and I would like to acknowledge the significant contribution that Colm McLoughlin and his team have made to the success of the Irish Derby over the past ten years.”

Colm McLoughlin, Executive Vice Chairman and CEO of Dubai Duty Free commented: “We are delighted to extend our partnership with the Curragh for 2018 and happy that our association with the Curragh has grown over the years. The Dubai Duty Free Irish Derby is now a weekend festival of quality racing and entertainment and the media exposure generated greatly raises the profile of our brand in Ireland.”

Irish Derby winning trainers Aidan O’Brien, Dermot Weld and John Oxx are delighted to hear the very positive news about Ireland’s premier flat race – see link here for interviews with all three trainers-

Dubai Duty Free Irish Derby “Free Entry” Initiative

The winner and horses who are placed 2nd, 3rd and 4th in the following races will have any entry or supplementary entry fee that has been paid by them refunded should they run in the Dubai Duty Free Irish Derby

-Tattersalls Irish 2000 Guineas
-Prix Du Jockey Club
-Epsom Derby

The winner of the following races will be given a free entry into the Irish Derby (should they run, any entry or supplementary fees paid will be refunded)

-Derby Italiano
Tattersalls Irish 1000 Guineas
-Airlie Stud Gallinule Stakes
-Nijinsky Stakes (King George VI Cup)
-TRM Silver Stakes
-Epsom Oaks
-Prix de Diane
-King Edward VII Stakes
-Hampton Court Stakes
-Prix Hocquart

The winner of the following races will be given a free entry (not to include supplementary as these races are run before the second entry stage) into the Irish Derby (should they run, any entry fees paid will be refunded).

-UAE Derby
-Derrinstown Derby Trial
-Dante Stakes
-Prix Greffulhe