Ireland’s Championship defining race for two year old fillies began in 1970.

Initially run over six furlongs, the race was extended to seven furlongs in 1992 and is contested every September. Since 2014 it has formed part of the Irish Champions Weekend, taking place on the Sunday at the Curragh, where it holds main billing along with the Irish St Leger and the National Stakes.

The Moyglare Stud Stakes was a Group 3 contest until 1979, when it was promoted to Group 2, attaining Group 1 status in 1983.

The Moyglare Stud Stakes became part of the Breeders’ Cup Challenge series in 2009.

Very much like the National Stakes does for the colts, the Moyglare Stud Stakes often defines Ireland’s champion juvenile filly, but is also a significant pointer to the big races the following season.

Among the many outstanding winners have been: Habibti (1982) who went to become the Champion Sprinter in 1983; Park Appeal (1984) the dam of Cape Cross; Chimes Of Freedom (1989) who won the following year’s Coronation Stakes and Child Stakes; Caricciosa (1990) who added the Group 1 Cheveley Park Stakes at Newmarket later that autumn; Sayyedati (1992) who won the Cheveley Park Stakes, English 1,000 Guineas, Prix Jacques Le Marois and Sussex Stakes; Tarascon (1997) who won the Irish 1,000 Guineas; Rumplestiltskin (2005) who won the Prix Marcel Boussac later that year and was the dam of Tapestry; Again (2008) who won the Irish 1,000 Guineas; Misty For Me (2010) who won the Prix Marcel Boussac, Irish 1,000 Guineas and Pretty Polly Stakes and was the dam of Roly Poly; Sky Lantern (2012) who won the English 1,000 Guineas and Sun Chariot Stakes; Rizeena (2013) who won the Coronation Stakes; and Minding (2015) who went on to win the Fillies’ Mile at two, the English 1,000 Guineas and Oaks, the Pretty Polly Stakes, Nassau Stakes and QEII Stakes.

Aidan O’Brien has dominated the Moyglare Stud Stakes in recent years and at the time of writing has won the race a record seven times: Sequoyah (2000), Quarter Moon (2001), Necklace (2003), Rumplestiltskin (2005), Misty for Me (2010), Maybe (2011), Minding (2015).

However, in 2016, it was his son, Joseph, who provided the shock winner, as Intricately landed the young trainer with his first Group 1 success in his new career, beating his father’s Hydrangea.

Aidan was back in the winner’s enclosure in 2017 though, as Happily landed an eighth success for the Ballydoyle Master.


Moyglare Stud Stakes Winners:

1970: What’s a Name

1971: Princess Bonita

1972: Where You Lead

1973: Milly Whiteway

1974: Tender Camilla

1975: Petipa

1976: Regal Ray

1977: Ridaness

1978: Phil’s Fancy

1979: Daness

1980: Arctique Royale

1981: Woodstream

1982     Habibti

1983     Gala Event

1984     Park Appeal

1985     Gayle Gal

1986     Minstrella

1987     Flutter Away

1988     Flamenco Wave

1989     Chimes of Freedom

1990     Capricciosa

1991     Twafeaj

1992     Sayyedati

1993     Lemon Souffle

1994     Belle Genius

1995     Priory Belle

1996     Bianca Nera

1997     Tarascon

1998     Edabiya

1999     Preseli

2000     Sequoyah

2001     Quarter Moon

2002     Mail the Desert

2003     Necklace

2004     Chelsea Rose

2005     Rumplestiltskin

2006     Miss Beatrix

2007     Saoirse Abu

2008     Again

2009     Termagant

2010     Misty for Me

2011     Maybe

Sky Lantern won the 2012 Moyglare before her 1,000 Guineas win the next year
Image by

2012     Sky Lantern

Rizeena won the 2013 Moyglare Stud Stakes
Image reproduced with the kind permission of Newmarket Racecourse

2013     Rizeena

2014     Cursory Glance

Minding (right) masters stable mate Ballydoyle in the 2015 Group 1 Moyglare Stud Stakes
Image by

2015     Minding

Intricately gets the better of Hydrangea in the Moyglare Stud Stakes
Image by

2016     Intricately

Happily (nearside) gets up to beat Magical in the Moyglare Stud Stakes
Image by

2017 Happily