The Irish St Leger is the fifth and final Irish Classic of the Turf Flat Season and takes place at the Curragh every September.

The 1 ¾ mile contest has formed part of the LONGINES Irish Champions Weekend since 2014.

The event was established in 1915, and it was originally restricted to three-year-olds. The first horse to win both the English and Irish St Legers was Royal Lancer in 1922.

The first Irish St. Leger winner to complete a Triple Crown (having previously won the Irish 2,000 Guineas and the Irish Derby) was Museum in 1935. The only subsequent horse to win all three races was Windsor Slipper in 1942.

The Irish St Leger became an open-age race in 1983, since when older horses have dominated, winning the race on 27 occasions, with three year olds successful just seven times.

There have been several repeat winners since then, starting with the legendary Vintage Crop, successful in 1993 and 1994, and the first European horse to win the Melbourne Cup.

Other back-to-back winners have been: Oscar Schindler (1996 and 1997) and Kayf Tara (1998 and 1999).

But the most successful has been Vinnie Roe, with four consecutive victories from 2001 to 2004.

In 1982 Touching Wood completed the English-Irish St Leger double in the same season, the last horse to do so.

The 1986 race was won by Authaal, who gained note as a son from the only crop of Shergar.

In 2011 the race resulted in a dead-heat between two English runners, Duncan and Jukebox Jury.

The immortal stayer Yeats, winner of Royal Ascot’s Gold Cup in four successive years, added his name to the Irish St Leger roll of honour in 2007.

Trainer Aidan O’Brien produced another outstanding stayer in Order Of St George, who in 2017, won his second Irish St Leger, having been previously successful in 2015.

The legendary Dr Vincent O’Brien is the most successful trainer in the history of the Irish St. Leger, with nine victories: Barclay (1959), White Gloves (1966), Reindeer (1969), Caucasus (1975), Meneval (1976), Transworld (1977), Gonzales (1980), Leading Counsel (1985), Dark Lomond (1988)


Irish St Leger Winners:

1915: La Paloma

1916: Captive Princess

1917: Double Scotch

1918: Dionysos

1919: Cheap Popularity

1920: Kirk-Alloway

1921: Kircubbin

1922: Royal Lancer

1923: O’Dempsey

1924: Zodiac

1925: Spelthorne

1926: Sunny View

1927: Ballyvoy

1928: Law Suit

1929: Trigo

1930: Sol de Terre

1931: Beaudelaire

1932: Hill Song

1933: Harinero

1934: Primero

1935: Museum

1936: Battle Song

1937: Owenstown

1938: Ochiltree

1939: Skoiter

1940: Harvest Feast

1941: Etoile de Lyons

1942: Windsor Slipper

1943: Solferino

1944: Water Street

1945: Spam

1946: Cassock

1947: Esprit de France

1948: Beau Sabreur

1949: Brown Rover

1950: Morning Madam

1951: Do Well

1952: Judicate

1953: Sea Charger

1954: Zarathustra

1955: Diamond Slipper

1956: Magnetic North

1957: Ommeyad

1958: Royal Highway

1959: Barclay

1960: Lynchris

1961: Vimadee

1962: Arctic Vale

1963: Christmas Island

1964: Biscayne

1965: Craighouse

1966: White Gloves

1967: Dan Kano

1968: Giolla Mear

1969: Reindeer

1970: Allangrange

1971: Parnell

1972     Pidget

1973     Conor Pass

1974     Mistigri

1975     Caucasus

1976     Meneval

1977     Transworld

1978     M-Lolshan

1979     Niniski

1980     Gonzales

1981     Protection Racket

1982     Touching Wood

1983     Mountain Lodge

1984     Opale

1985     Leading Counsel

1986     Authaal

1987     Eurobird

1988     Dark Lomond

1989     Petite Ile

1990     Ibn Bey

1991     Turgeon

1992     Mashaallah

1993     Vintage Crop

1994     Vintage Crop

1995     Strategic Choice

1996     Oscar Schindler

1997     Oscar Schindler

1998     Kayf Tara

1999     Kayf Tara

2000     Arctic Owl

2001     Vinnie Roe

2002     Vinnie Roe

2003     Vinnie Roe

2004     Vinnie Roe

2005     Collier Hill

2006     Kastoria

The incomparable Yeats; four-time winner of the Gold Cup at Ascot
Image by

2007     Yeats

2008     Septimus

2009     Alandi

2010     Sans Frontieres

2011     Duncan and Jukebox Jury (dead heated)

2012     Royal Diamond

2013     Voleuse de Coeurs

Brown Panther won a memorable 2014 Irish St Leger
Image by

2014     Brown Panther

Order Of St George careers away from Second Step in the Irish St Leger
Image by

2015     Order of St George

Wicklow Brave repels Order Of St George in the 2016 Irish St. Leger
Image by

2016     Wicklow Brave

Order Of St George powers home in the 2017 Irish St Leger
Image by

2017 Order Of St George