The Al Shaqab Lockinge Stakes is the first Group One mile contest for older horses, in the British racing calendar.

The race takes place at Newbury and attained Group One status in 1995, the same year that it became exclusive to horses of four years and older.

The event is named after Lockinge, a civil parish located to the north of Newbury. It was established in 1958, and originally open to horses aged three or older. The first edition was won by that year’s 2000 Guineas Stakes winner Pall Mall, who would repeat his success as a four-year-old in 1959.

Pall Mall’s dual success has been repeated by two other horses: Welsh Pageant (1970 and 1971) and Soviet Line (1995 and 1996).

Sir Michael Stoute is the most successful trainer in the history of the Lockinge Stakes, winning it seven times, with: Scottish Reel (1986), Safawan (1990), Soviet Line (1995, 1996), Medicean (2001), Russian Rhythm (2004), Peeress (2006).

Lester Piggott is the most successful jockey in the race’s history, with six victories: Sovereign Path (1960), The Creditor (1964), Sparkler (1973), Belmont Bay (1981), Polar Falcon (1991), Swing Low (1993).

Some of the great horses of the post-war years have won the Lockinge Stakes.

Brigadier Gerard

Brigadier Gerard was successful in 1972 and the popular Boldboy was also victorious for trainer Dick Hern, a couple of years later.

The top class three year old Young Generation landed the 1979 renewal and his great rival Kris, took the spoils in 1980.

In 1984, Champion Stakes winner Cormorant Wood and Irish 2,000 Guineas winner Wassl, produced the race’s only dead-heat.

The top class Then Again won in 1987 and in 1991, Lester Piggott rode the French colt Polar Falcon to victory over that top class filly In The Groove.

A year later it was the outstanding miler Selkirk and another top class miler in First Island, was successful in 1997.

Cape Cross made his name as a stallion, but also won the Lockinge Stakes as a racehorse in 1998.

He was one of a record eight winners of the race in the Godolphin royal blue silks, with Aljabr following-up two years later.

Medicean won the race in 2001 and in 2003, Hawk Wing put up an astounding performance.

In a vintage period, the 1,000 Guineas winner Russian Rhythm won in 2004, followed by the enigmatic but brilliant Rakti a year later.

Richard Hannon enjoyed back to back winners in 2010 and 2011, with Paco Boy and Canford Cliffs.

Image supplied by Newbury Racecourse

However, 2012 saw the brilliant Frankel add his name to the illustrious roll of honour.

Frankel’s old rival Farhh won a year later before Olympic Glory added another Lockinge for the Hannons. They made it four wins in six renewals in 2015, when 2,000 Guineas winner Night Of Thunder was successful.

Belardo wins the Lockinge Stakes Image supplied by Newbury Racecourse

Former Dewhurst Stakes winner Belardo came back to form to give Roger Varian a first Lockinge a year later – and then Ribchester was all class in 2017.

Rhododendron beats Lightning Spear in the Lockinge Stakes Image supplied by Newbury Racecourse

The 2018 renewal produced a thriller, with Aidan O’Brien’s filly Rhododendron inching future Sussex Stakes winner Lightning Spear.

Lockinge Stakes Winners:

1958 Pall Mall 3 Harry Carr Cecil Boyd-Rochfort
1959 Pall Mall 4 Harry Carr Cecil Boyd-Rochfort
1960 Sovereign Path 4 Lester Piggott Ron Mason
1961 Prince Midge 3 Duncan Keith Jack Colling
1962 Superstition 3 David Morris Cecil Boyd-Rochfort
1963 Queen’s Hussar 3 Scobie Breasley Atty Corbett
1964 The Creditor 4 Lester Piggott Noel Murless
1965 Young Christopher 4 Bill Williamson Freddie Maxwell
1966 Silly Season 4 Geoff Lewis Ian Balding
1967 Bluerullah 4 Bill Williamson Seamus McGrath
1968 Supreme Sovereign 4 Ron Hutchinson Harry Wragg
1969 Habitat 3 Ron Hutchinson Fulke Johnson Houghton
1970 Welsh Pageant 4 Sandy Barclay Noel Murless
1971 Welsh Pageant 5 Geoff Lewis Noel Murless
1972 Brigadier Gerard 4 Joe Mercer Ian Balding
1973 Sparkler 5 Lester Piggott Robert Armstrong
1974 Boldboy 4 Joe Mercer Dick Hern
1975 no race [a]
1976 El Rastro 6 Bill Pyers Angel Penna
1977 Relkino 4 Willie Carson Dick Hern
1978 Don 4 Brian Rouse Bill Elsey
1979 Young Generation 3 Greville Starkey Guy Harwood
1980 Kris 4 Joe Mercer Henry Cecil
1981 Belmont Bay 4 Lester Piggott Henry Cecil
1982 Motavato 4 Steve Cauthen Barry Hills
1983 Noalcoholic 6 George Duffield G. Pritchard-Gordon
Cormorant Wood
Steve Cauthen
Willie Carson
Barry Hills
John Dunlop
1985 Prismatic 3 Paul Eddery Henry Cecil
1986 Scottish Reel 4 Walter Swinburn Michael Stoute
1987 Then Again 4 Ray Cochrane Luca Cumani
1988 Broken Hearted 4 Richard Quinn Paul Cole
1989 Most Welcome 5 Paul Eddery Geoff Wragg
1990 Safawan 4 Walter Swinburn Michael Stoute
1991 Polar Falcon 4 Lester Piggott John Hammond
1992 Selkirk 4 Ray Cochrane Ian Balding
1993 Swing Low 4 Lester Piggott Richard Hannon Sr.
1994 Emperor Jones 4 Frankie Dettori John Gosden
1995 Soviet Line 5 Walter Swinburn Michael Stoute
1996 Soviet Line 6 Richard Quinn Michael Stoute
1997 First Island 5 Michael Hills Geoff Wragg
1998 Cape Cross 4 Daragh O’Donohoe Saeed bin Suroor
1999 Fly to the Stars 5 Willie Supple Saeed bin Suroor
2000 Aljabr 4 Frankie Dettori Saeed bin Suroor
2001 Medicean 4 Kieren Fallon Sir Michael Stoute
2002 Keltos 4 Olivier Peslier Carlos Laffon-Parias
2003 Hawk Wing 4 Michael Kinane Aidan O’Brien
2004 Russian Rhythm 4 Kieren Fallon Sir Michael Stoute
2005 Rakti 6 Philip Robinson Michael Jarvis
2006 Peeress 5 Kieren Fallon Sir Michael Stoute
2007 Red Evie 4 Jamie Spencer Michael Bell
2008 Creachadoir 4 Frankie Dettori Saeed bin Suroor
2009 Virtual 4 Jimmy Fortune John Gosden
2010 Paco Boy 5 Richard Hughes Richard Hannon Sr.
2011 Canford Cliffs 4 Richard Hughes Richard Hannon Sr.
2012 Frankel 4 Tom Queally Sir Henry Cecil
2013 Farhh 5 Silvestre de Sousa Saeed bin Suroor
2014 Olympic Glory 4 Frankie Dettori Richard Hannon Jr.
2015 Night of Thunder 4 James Doyle Richard Hannon Jr.
2016 Belardo 4 Andrea Atzeni Roger Varian
2017 Ribchester 4 William Buick Richard Fahey
2018 Rhododendron 4 Ryan Moore Aidan O’Brien